Chiri’s Raw: Last Coffee?Clean Slate?

*Continued**

Damn! It just had be this place! I muttered to myself.

Why had he chosen place we first met?

I lit up on seeing him and he rose to hug me. Then, the usual pleasantries.

He ordered coffee for both of us, This time. The Last one perhaps? I thought to myself as gathered my thoughts together.

Hey I mean this in the best possible way……., I cautioned, just in case I don’t say the right thing.

Uh-huh…, he nodded and smiled in return,noticing the nervousness in me.

Its been months, six to be precise, since we met and  got talking on and off …… yeah, there were times I gave up, blocked him, unblocked him and oh! talked again.

……… and I was just wondering, is there a future? Are we heading somewhere?

Pause…..

Haha! I didnt realise you were putting me on spot like that..

Seeing the seriousness I never thought I had, in my face, his somewhat laughter disappeared.

I thought we’ve been okay, we’ve been communicating…

I nodded in disagreement. We just cant work without definition, cause it would mean no goal, no discipline and I couldn’t start explaining all that.

Well, okay. You see, I have been buying time. It is not that I hadn’t thought of that yet,  I just wanted to take my time……………..

I zoned out.

He was trying to explain something but my mind registered 2 things.

He’s not ready. He feels imperfect.

Whatever that meant.

It was getting late

I was mad, disapointed and crushed but still managed a smile when he said, we’ll talk, as I stood to leave.

Then, it had dawned on me. I had to decide. Settle for a clean slate or try to wipe the one I had.

But a part of me didn’t have that energy at that moment so I resolved to rely on mother universe as a deadline. I was just hoping that he talks to me with a change of heart before New Years. Thereafter would just be ignore, block, delete, I had decided.

So while all of you were waiting for the New years chime at 0000hrs , that was my key to close all pending answers for the year. To conclude and accept, was my mantra.

The fireworks were my favourite part. Seeing the previous year blowing up like that, the start of an new era, a clean slate.

The clean slate however, started with work. You got earn this money for the so many plans you have for herself, I thought to myself. This year I am gonna travel.

12:43 noon.

A man paces up and down. Close enough to be seen from my office and far enough to seem lost finding an office.

He stops. Eyes lock. I hold myself, I can’t believe.

Chocolate drip!

……….

Ley’s Quest. Ley’s Year.

Just Ley.

By Chiri

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑